Academics Gator News

Bryant is Scholarship Winner

The Robesonian

East Columbus High School Class of 2018 graduate Je’Juan Bryant was among 24 high school graduates from Robeson and surrounding counties who were recognized by the National Pan-Hellenic Council of Lumberton during its sixth annual Academic Signing Day Scholarship program. Bryant was the National Pan-Hellenic Council of Lumberton’s Scholarship recipient for having the highest GPA among the scholars.

Kane Banner, a Duke graduate and the first Academic Signing Day scholarship recipient, was the keynote speaker. His message to the scholars and attendees was “finding your path without losing yourself.”

The students received scholarship awards from four of the current NPHC of Lumberton’s organizations, Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority Inc., Omega Psi Phi Fraternity Inc., Delta Sigma Theta Sorority Inc., and Zeta Phi Beta Sorority Inc., to assist with college expenses. They were selected based on community and civic engagement, school activities and academic standing. This year, the NPHC of Lumberton, through a partnership with the United Way of Robeson County, was able to award an additional $250 to each of the 24 scholar recipients.

The 2018 recipients were Alexander Bethea, South View High; Cariyah Scippio, South Robeson High; Coriana Chavis, Fairmont High; D’Mya Striblin, Lumberton High; Delaneyah Leach, South Robeson High; Jaden Johnson, Lumberton High; Jaleah Dockery, Lumberton High; Je’Juan Bryant, East Columbus High; Jeshaiah Moore, Lumberton High; Jessica Bethea, South Robeson; Jordan Burch, Fairmont; Karl McCloud, Lumberton; Kimaya McRae, Fairmont; Logan Floyd, Lumberton; London Thompson, Lumberton; Malik Cooper, Lumberton; Nsaia Rogers, Whiteville; Niquisha Moore, Fairmont; Shantasia Johnson, Lumberton; Sidney McKeithan, Fairmont; Tariah Ferguson, Red Springs; Temichael Tart, South Robeson; Tyson Alford, Lumberton; and Zachari Graham, Lumberton.

Click Here for Story